Name Ideas

I have been thinking about my App, it is based around the Graphic Design industry and therefore is targeting Graphic Designers.

I have been looking into potential names for my App and have come up with a couple of possibilities.

The first idea is ‘Blend’ – This idea came from the fact that the App will be ‘blending’ several functions and facilities together to make one single being. I like this idea and think that this would work quite nicely with my App. However, when thinking about the idea of ‘blend’, in terms of different visuals, there is not a lot of options. I haven’t thought about this in too much details as of yet as I am considering several different name choices.

The second idea is ‘Fusion’ – This was based upon the same idea as ‘blend’, in terms of taking several different entities and bringing them together. I think this idea has some potential with its visuals, but I am afraid that it could end up looking a bit too science-y, with Nuclear fusion and other such terms. For this reason, I think that I will steer clear of this idea.

A third idea is ‘Ahead of the Curve’ – This has a modern and zeitgeist feel to it as a name. This is deliberate, to make the user feel as if they are using something new and unusual. I like the sound of this and think it would suit my App. There is obviously the reference to a curve, a design component familiar with any designer. My only concern with this idea is the visual, to keep in league with the name, it would have to be very modern and cutting edge, but would also need to include a curve. This would limit the visuals somewhat but I will try and mock-up some visuals in hope that I can steer away from the obvious.

Another idea is ‘Design Wise’ – This is one of my strongest ideas. Design Wise refers to a person who is design savvy and is in the know with design. I think this would sum up my App perfectly. My App is very new and very unusual and is directly aimed toward designers. The phrase ‘Design Wise’ works on its own, but ‘Wise’ alone infers intelligence and experience. I think this is the idea that I will run with and see what develops.

Leave a comment